An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The recommendation of the international development group makes a number of assumptions. First, it does not evaluate whether other sources of vitamin A exist in Tagus. Second, it assumes that the people of Tagus will adopt a new variety of millet since they already grow millet. Third, it assumes that the issue is a lack of food options instead of perhaps a lack of education around nutrition. Thus, the government of Tagus needs to ask several questions before adopting this new type of millet as a strategy for combatting vitamin A deficiency.

First, there needs to be an evaluation of why people are lacking vitamin A in their diets. It may be that there is already food available that is abundant in vitamin A, but that this food is prohibitively expensive for people to buy or that it is simply not a staple food, so people aren't eating enough of it. It may be cheaper to subsidize the purchase of a different type of food than to subsidize farmers for growing this new crop. The government should perform a cost-benefit analysis if other food sources exist to determine whether it is cheaper and more effective to subsidize already existing foo sources or promote a new crop.

Another issue may be a lack of education. If the people of Tagus are not informed about nutrition, they may be choosing not to eat available sources of vitamin A because they are simply not aware it is needed in their diet. The government should interview citizens to gain a better understanding of people's knowledge of nutrition and conduct a test of nutrition education programs in some villages to determine whether nutrition programs significantly improve the problem of vitamin A deficiency. An education program may be significantly cheaper than subsidizing farmers, and a cost-benefit analysis should be conducted along with the study of the effectiveness of education programs.

The recommendation assumes that people will readily adopt a new variety of millet. A subsidy alone might not necessarily incentivize people to purchase the new crop. The people may not trust the development organization or trust the new crop, or they may feel there is no need to switch to something new. To answer the question of whether people will readily adopt a new variety of millet, the government should conduct a study in some villages, using different levels of subsidies, and similarly to the nutrition program study, interview people to understand their attitude toward this new crop before and after introducing it.

In conclusion, there is a significant amount of unknown information about the availability of other food sources, the nutrition education of the citizens of Tagus, and the openness to a new variety of millet. Before assuming the new seed is the best solution, the government of Tagus must look at quantitative factors such as cost, along with collecting qualitative information about people's diets, attitude toward a new seed, and people's willingness to purchase the seed with different levels of subsidies. Only until this information is collected can it be determined whether the new breed of millet is the best solution to vitamin A deficiency in Tagus.