An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author suggests the government of Tagus should put serious effort into convincing its citizens, mostly its farmers, that the re-engineered millet seeds should replace the traditional millet seeds. This suggestion, however, fails to provide a number of key information. Till the following questions can be answered, this suggestion is weak as it is fails in the expatiation of its intention.

Firstly, is there certainty or "proof" that the farmers of Tagus would pay for millet seeds that cost more? Moreover, how much more would these farmers have to pay? The act of subsidizing the productions of vitamin A rich millet does not necessarily imply these farmers would be obligated to buy the new millet seeds. Seeds which cost more than the natural millet seeds. Also, it could be possible that farming these new millet seeds is a lot more expensive than farming natural millet seeds and the subsidization doesn't do enough to alleviate the costs. Thus, this is a key questions that needs answering before the government of Tagus should consider the authors suggestion.

Another question that is paramount to this recommendation is, would the people of Tagus truly adopt this new bio-engineered millet? Would they see the bio-engineering of food they are to consume orthodox? It is plausible to think that, yes, because millet is a staple food in Tagus its residents would easily accommodate the new type of millet, but, it is wrong to base a suggestion on a mere assumption. Therefore, there would need to be empirical information that supports the residents of Tagus would truly accommodate this food change. After this, the government can proselytize its citizens into the farming and consumption of this new millet.

Lastly, what are the cons of this millet with regards to human health? What else does this millet have in high concentration? It needs to be answered and proven the possible health defect the consumption of this new millet can result in. It also needs to be mentioned what else it has in high doses. This would give an idea of what the people of Tagus are about to ingest into their system. In answering this question there would be a sense of understanding which can increase the millet's consumption and would result in the defeciency of vitamn A being cobated.

The suggestion consits of obvious holes and lack of answers to key questions that would stregthen its recommendation. If these questions were to be answered eloquently, the government of Tagus can then initaite a campaign to support the farming of these millts and hope to combat the vitamin A defieciency in this region. Till these questions are answered the suggestion and its recommendation do not hold water.