The following appeared in a memo from the Board of Directors of Butler Manufacturing.

"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Therefore, we recommend that Butler Manufacturing shorten each of its work shifts by one hour. Shorter shifts will allow Butler to improve its safety record by ensuring that its employees are adequately rested."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The board of directors of Butler manufacturing are suggesting that a decrese in it's work shifts by an hour would help decrease the number of accidents being accounted for. The juxtaposition of the number of reported incidents of that of Panoply industries with it's own is the premise for this suggestion. The suggestion has multiple holes as it fails to address certain questions, questions that need to be answered for this suggestion to hold water.

Firstly, what does Panoply industries consider an accident? Does Panoply industries report all their accidents verisimutedly? There is a high possibility that Butler manufacturing has a more strict approach to safety and considers incidents Panoply industries would ignore as accidents. It is also possible that there is a fallacy in the reporting of accidents reported by Panoply industries to keep their own board of directors happy. This is a key question that must be answered before taking a decsion that might lead in decreased output of Butler Manufacturing.

Furthermore the board of diretors assume reduction in shift time would reduce on-the-job accidents. What proof if there that such a reduction would ameliorate this predicament? What goes to show that making work shifts an hour shorter would lead to a decrese in reported incidents? It is possible that the employees of Butler Manufacturing live far away from the plant and thus don't get adequate rest due to the fact they travel for miles to get home. It is also possible that a majority of the employees work a second job to make ends meet. Till the question that a redution in shift time would result in better adherence to safety measures, this suggestion cannot be considred valid.

Lastly, the conclusion that fatigue is the cause of these accidents is incoherent. What are the other siginificant factors that lead to on-the-job-accidents? There could be a lack of focus at Butler Industries which in return would open way for mistakes. There's also the possibility that these employees aren't trained properly in the use of equipments at the facility. An answer to what other factors result in in-house accidents would strengthen the suggestion else an assumption that shorter shift times would resolve the issue at hand should would fall on deaf ears.

The board of directors have proposed a suggestion that is rife with flaws. There are multiple assumptions and the questions asked above would determine if those assumptions should be considered or not. If these questions can be answered with sound reason it would the be justifiable that said suggestion should be considered.