Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Paid education plays a pivotal role in the literacy percentage of any given country. Countries that have no free education at any level suffer severely from high illiteracy rates which in turn results in lower employment rates and a higher tendencies of daily violence. This prompt suggests that education at the tertiary level should be at no expense to individuals who decide to embark on the journey of earning a degree. A suggestion which I strongly agree with and I share my points as to why in the following paragraphs.

Building on what I have already stated, a lack of free education is directly proportional to an increase in illiteracy rates. Take Africa as an example where education is minutely subsidised. The number of uneducated persons in the continent greatly outnumbers that of educated persons. This has a negative effect on the continent as even in this technological age there is a high probability that an African chosen at random would be unable to write this essay on a computer system due to their unfamiliarity with such technology. Another example, one which is an exact opposite of the previously stated example, is the fact that continents or countries where college education is free of charge have exceptionally high literacy rates. Take Poland as an example. The literacy rate in the region of Poland is among the top ten literacy rates in the world and this is majorly attributed to the mere fact that education at all tertiary instituions is offered at no cost. A situation where education at the university level can be completely subsidised helps not only the literacy level of given nation but also ensures the nation succeeds as a whole.

Speaking about nationwide success, regions where free university degrees are "on-display" experience a large amount of immigration. It can be argued that immigration can have it's negative qualities but I argue it's benefits outweighs it's cons. The success of regions like the USA can testify to this. The inflow of immigrants to undertake university courses opens doors for the possibility of these immigrants to stay back after their study. This can result in a large availability of man power which inturn would positively impact the economic output of the region. This would also have a positive impact in terms of art and music as the diverse culture would create an entertainment boom. Establishing the option of free university degree not only creates positve economical impact but also opens gates for that of artistic excellence.

Lastly, instating free education at the university level would certainly make worldwide headlines and this mere fact can expose such regions to international discovery. Google searches would surge and social media mentions would be over the top. This can possibly result in tourism boom as the nation would be more known and "weight" would be given to its name.

One can argue that the subsidization of education would result in large amounts of money being constatly spent. I refute this argument by asking, at the end of the day won't it be worth it? The question isn't rhetotical and the answer is yes as I have explained above. Certainly governments should ensure education at the university level is of no cost at all.