The following is a memorandum from the business

manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has

devoted decreased time to national news aid less time

to weather and local news. During this time period,

most of the complaints received Q'om viewers w:ere

concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

local news. In addition, local businesses that used to

advertise during our late-night news program have just

canceled their advertising contracts with us- Therefore, I

in order to attract more answers to the program and to

avoid losing any further advertising revenues, w:e

should restore the time devoted to weather and local

news to its former level"

write a response in which you discuss w:hat specific

evidence is needed to evaluate the argument aid explain I

how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The business manager suggests that a reversal of amount of time for coverage of local and weather news would attract more viewers and prevent further loss of advertising deals. His evidence lies on the fact that multiple complaints have been registered concerning coverage of local news and weather forecasts. The argument is fundamentally flawed as it fails to provide evidence for its suggestions. The following paragraphs outline what evidence could have been provided to improve the chances of consideration of the managers suggestion.

The manager fails to provide the number of complaints received nor does he provide information on what these complaints are about. He also doesn't juxtapose the difference in the number of registered complaints of local news and weather forecasts prior to its reduction in coverage time. If he were to provide answers to these questions he would be able to strengthen his argument but as he has failed to he weakens his suggestion.

Furthermore, there is failure to provide evidence as to why these local businesses cancelled their contracts. Is there a boycott of the telivision station? It is also possible that there is recession and in order to save costs these local businesses are cancelling deals to stay head above water. He also fails to account for if these businesses cut deals with other telivision stations. Failure to provide evidence that these businesses cut deals due to coverage time ensures this suggestion cannot hold water.

Lastly, the business manager assumes that restoring the coverage time would result in higher view counts and halt their loss of advertising revenue. There is need for factual evidence that a drop in view count would reduce if previous coverage times we're re-established as well as local businesses halting their decision to cut ties with the telivision station. Until this evidence can be provided this suggestion would remain germane and should not result in the restoration of coverage time to local news and weather forecasts.

The suggestion made by the business manager is serially flawed as he fails to provide evidence for a number of suggestions. He also assumes that a restoration would infact ameliorate the situation that the telivision station currently finds itself in and still he fails to provide evidence for yet another assumption. If the above requested evidences can be provided then this suggestion would be put in better light but it currently fails to do so, thus, an application of the suggestion seem impractical.