In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer argues that residents of Mason City wish to use the river for waterside activities and concludes that the government should therefore pump more revenue into establishing these facilities, however, the writer places all his arguments with a egregious inadequacy in terms of factual evidence. For instance he argues that the fact residents of Mason City rank water sports highly means they would actually participate in these events. There is no proof that the residents would indulge in such activities as the survey reports they enjoy it as opposed to if they would actually participate in it. If the government should increase its budger for riverside activities without proof of if they would be used these facilities would only deteriorate and waste away.

The writer goes on to argue that in a case where an increase in government funding for these riverside activities is actually given a greenlight that the use of the Mason River is sure to increase. Objectively the statement alone is a mere assumption due to fact that mason city residents highly rank the sports and it doesn't account for the question if the residents of the city even live close enough to the river for the use of it to increase. If the writer gave factual proof that supports his stament in terms of increase of usage of the river the argument would hold still but it lacks this and thus can be regarded as a fallacy.

The ongoing yearly complaint about the river's odour and the quality of its water doesn't state how many complaints have been registered and the frequency or time period to which these complaints are being registered. The odour and water quality might be a natural process that occurs at specific times of the year due to an icrease in inflow of sea water or for the fact that there might be an industrial plant along the riverside whose waste seeps into the river. Increasing the money spent on the river without addressing this fundamental problem would only result in a wastage of the governments money.

Lastly, the writer implies that the government is reluctant to maintain the these facilities and in doing so invlidates his argument of an increase in budget as this doesn't say if these improved facilities would be maintained properly. Thus, if these assumptions can't be addressed and factual evidence rovided the government owuld be wasting a portion of its budget in providing or improving facilities that have no ceratinty of their usage.