As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This argument that the ability for human thinking to deteriorate due to excessive assistance from technology is a rather specious argument. Its been proven through time that human beings would always have a capacity for continous mental growth as, ironically, technology has played a pivotal role in ascertaining that.

The use of technology to solve problems be it day to day problems ranging from heating our meals in microwave ovens or solving complex space travel reinstates the capability of the human mind for progressive development due to the fact that the creation of the solutions to this problem give birth to other problems of their own. Take for example the heating of our meals. The proclivity of the average human to rush over to the microwave to heat food has resulted in an increase in the number of cancer cases in regions where the microwave is used on a daily and thus we have to find solutions or cures for these diseases and to solve this problems our brightest minds have to head back to the literal drawing table to use their innate human ability to think through and solve these problems. Another example which solidifies this argument is the case that even after human beings conquered the moon during the cold war almost immediately aftre plans were made to conquer mars a feat which we are yet to accomplish and this requires scientists to think of ways to circumvent obstacles and this also requires human thiking.

Our use of tehnology to solve problems doesn't indicate in any way total reliance on it as the production of vehicles goes to show. We use a myriad of technological equipments in car production but this doesn't take away from the fact we still supervise these machines and to exarcerbate this issue there are tasks which these "all-wise robots " cannot handle and thus need human intervention. Another case is the use of calculators, a pithy example as even pre-school children interact with these cuboids of incredulous precision yet the use of the human mind is still quinessential in solving a number of problems where the calculator can only play role of assistant.

To speak of assistance is not enough as it has been observed that humans in certain aspects of life reject the use of technology and prefer to take the taditional route as is the case in the fields of sports. A notable case scenario is the proclivity for a certain group of people who decline the use of digital media for consumption of books and would rather read hard back copies than listen to computer generated voices for ebooks.

To conclude my argument is the fact that even in the use of technology the human mind is still on its toes even in the most fundamental aspects such as typing and trying to construct sentences. Children of nowadays learn to use computers before they learn to ride bicycles and that goes to show that the argument that we deteriorate our minds by relying on technology cannot stand due to the fact that in this case we use our minds to jumpp several hurdles we didn't need to overcome a coule decades ago. In a billion years technology may get to the point where no human intervention is needed or to the point where the human mind figuratively decomposes due to its exessive use but as of now our use of technology in no way qualifies our thinking abilities.