As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The human brain is a highly sophisticated system designed to interpret external information and solve complex challenges. The impressive mental capacities of humans have allowed us to communicate with one another, construct dynamic civilizations, combat aggressive diseases, and achieve many other great accomplishments. The ability of our species to continuously expand its knowledge and overcome obstacles has been directly linked to the development of new technology. This correlation now causes many to fear that man-made technology is beginning to generate more problems than it is able to resolve. After all, the growing human dependency on technology cannot be denied when considering the amount of people that use a calculator to validate 2+2=4, rather than relying on their own mental math skills. Nonetheless, the overall capacity of humans to think independently is not threatened by the continued use of technology. The risks associated with an alleged human dependency on technology are mitigated when viewing technology as a catalyst for major growth and expansion, rather than a limiting crutch.

As introduced above, the calculator is a common form of technology that has significantly impacted the way humans approach mathematics. The convenience, accuracy, and validation provided by a calculator has caused many to believe that it has negatively impacted the degree to which humans are able to independently compute basic mathematical operations. This concern often motivates many professors to restrict the use of a calculator during exams in order to ensure their students are able to properly perform certain computations. However, this example also proves that the mental application of mathematical principles by humans is still possible, even in the absence of calculators. Thus, calculators should be viewed as optional catalysts designed solely to reduce the amount of time required to carry out specific computations. According to this perspective, a calculator is not the only means by which an answer can be determined; it is simply the fastest. Furthermore, the use of calculators to promptly solve basic problems enables the human brain to focus on answering more complex and potentially rewarding questions. Investigations into more intricate problems often lead to the formulation of new theories, many of which have the potential to further increase human understanding and insight. Thus, calculators, along with many other forms of technology, should be viewed as tools to accelerate human thought and research. It is our responsibility as the operator of these tools to use them appropriately in order to extract their benefits without sacrificing the fundamental knowledge they serve to simplify.

GPS systems are another form of technology that have provided a tremendous amount of time-saving assistance to humans without necessarily diminishing our ability to think independently. Travelling was a tedious, laborious, and inefficient task prior the invention of GPS systems. Confusing maps and complicated signs made driving long distances difficult, unpredictable, and easily evadable. In return, people were less likely leave their homes and explore new places. Following their launch, GPS systems offered humans a new sense of freedom by removing many of the obstacles associated with traveling. The ability to access a fast, direct, and reliable route at the click of a button surely empowered travelers to embark upon new journeys with confidence. In addition to delivering a safe and efficient commute, GPS systems did not jeopardize any form of geographic understandings exhibited by the overall human population. In fact, GPS systems likely motivated humans to learn more about the world around them while visiting new areas and meeting new people. Once again, the time-saving resources provided by man-made technology prove to be highly beneficial due to their impact on the rate in which humans are able to complete basic tasks and ultimately focus on achieving superior goals.

In conclusion, the development of new technology does not negatively impact the ability of humans to think for themselves. New technology, including calculators and GPS systems, allow humans to refine their cognitive abilities by reducing the time required to complete simple tasks, such as solving an elementary math problem or traveling. Major advancements can then be achieved when humans effectively allocate their newly acquired time to the development of new theories and exploration of new subjects. Thus, humans are fully capable of preserving and improving their collection of fundamental knowledge if they properly utilize the convenient tools provided by technology, rather than abuse them. This boundary is easily implemented and should not be seen as a valid reason to limit the invention of new technology. For instance, humans can effortlessly maintain their independent thinking skills by vowing to complete all single-step mathematical computations mentally. In this way, the advantages of technology remain readily accessible while future generations will still be able to confirm that “2+2=4” without a calculator.