"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Several factors must be considered before determining if the addition of a new café to Monarch Books is capable of improving the business. According to the Board of Directors, a new café is likely to attract additional customers and allow Monarch Books to better compete with surrounding stores. They recommend transforming the children’s book section into a new café seeing as the percentage of population under age ten has recently declined. Thus, the risks associated with closing the existing children’s book section and constructing a new café must be thoroughly examined in order to analyze the validity of this recommendation.

Firstly, the Board of Directors at Monarch Books should investigate the proportion of current customers that frequently shop in the children’s book section. An abundant and diverse selection of children’s books likely attracted many families and contributed to the existing network of customers at Monarch Books. Furthermore, children that were introduced to Monarch Books at a young age probably returned to the store and purchased more books as they become advanced readers. Thus, eliminating this category may reduce the number of families that visit and return to the store in search of age-appropriate books for their children. Building a new café in place of the old children’s book selection would inherently limit the selection of books on various subjects that historically attracted a large customer base, as described in the recommendation released by the Board of Directors. Nonetheless, the new café may prove to be a profitable investment if the number of new customers it attracts to the store surpasses the number of old customers lost as a result of decreasing the store’s supply of children’s book.

Additionally, the Board of Directors should contemplate the possibility that replicating their competitors may not be the best strategy for attracting more customers to the store. The recommendation claims that a new café would allow Monarch Books to better compete with Regal Books, which has recently opened its own café as well. However, it may be more profitable and productive for Monarch Books to differentiate themselves from their competition, rather than attempting to capture the same exact category of consumer. Instead of directly completing with Regal Books for customers that enjoy sipping gourmet coffee while browsing through books, Monarch Books may be able to generate more sales by inventing in other unique assets. Examples of these resources include the addition of a computer lab or a conference room for hosting books clubs and meet-and-greets with popular authors. Focusing on these areas would allow Monarch Books to stand out from their competitors while also expanding their own customer base. Surveys and other methods could be utilized to classify and quantify consumer interests, thus allowing the Board of Directors at Monarch Books to determine which avenue of expansion would be most effective.

In summary, several questions regarding the recommendation proposed by the Board of Directors at Monarch Books must be answered to conclude if a new café is worthy of replacing the existing children’s book section. Two of these important questions are as follows: What percentage of customers currently shop in the children’s book section? Is replicating the café in Regal Books truly the best strategy for competing with a fellow bookstore? Ultimately, the answers of these questions would allow the Board of Directors to make an informed business decision by enabling them to compare the amount of old customers lost to the amount of new customers gained following the opening of a new café.