In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The benefits provided by enhanced riverside recreational facilities should be thoroughly examined before the Mason City government agrees to invest monetary resources to the renovation of such facilities. The results of several surveys demonstrate that Mason City residents highly rank water sports when compared to other recreational activities. This data has caused some to relate improvements in water quality and smell to a direct increase in the usage of riverside recreational facilities. This argument is based on two fundamental assumptions. The validity and impact of these assumptions should be closely considered prior to increasing the portion of the Mason city budget dedicated to riverside recreational facilities.

Firstly, this argument assumes that the surveys described above fairly represent the current population of all Mason City residents. The sample of respondents that participated in these surveys must be random in nature and large enough in size in order for the findings to be considered justifiable. If only individuals with a passion for water sports voluntarily answered these surveys, the sample would be viewed as biased. In this case, the data would fail to accurately portray the thoughts and opinions of all Mason City residents; instead, it would overestimate the proportion of residents that rank water sport highly. Thus, investing in riverside recreational facilities may not be as profitable or productive as initially assumed.

Secondly, the argument assumes that poor water quality and smell is the only factor that is preventing Mason city residents from regularly using riverside recreational facilities. This perspective fails to acknowledge many other important variables which may potentially limit the use of such facilities, even after the Mason River is restored. For example, these variables include the cost of equipment, the seasonality of water sports, and the extensive amounts of time required to visit riverside facilities. Despite having access to clean water, many residents may not be able to afford the products needed to engage in many water sports. Additionally, several of these facilities may need to remain close for the majority of the year due to climate restrains. Even during the appropriate seasons, people may find it challenging to set aside time in their daily lives to travel back and forth from these facilities. Overall, these factors may continue to restrict the use of riverside recreational facilities regardless of water quality and smell. Therefore, these factors must be addressed in order to avoid the consequences associated with overspending on water-front facilities.

The Mason City government is responsible for comparing the advantages and disadvantages of certain budget adjustments prior to rationing its financial resources. In order to protect the best interests of the city, government officials must assess the impact improved riverside recreational facilities may have upon their residents. Several obstacles may emerge if new, expensive riverside recreational facilities are unable to attract as many residents as initially anticipated. Firstly, other city programs may suffer from severe budget cuts. Reductions in the amount of funds dedicated to city streets, schools, parks, and so on that occurred in response to this change may notably impact many residents in a negative manner. For example, residents may have to repair their cars more frequently as departments responsible for maintaining the roads receive less funding. Secondly, the entire demeanor exhibited by residents may begin to shift as individuals become more and more frustrated with their city government and the allocation of resources. Some residents may question why the government has dedicated to cater to only a certain portion of the population that is interested in water sports. Rising levels of resentment and tension among city-dwellers may then begin to generate many unforeseen issues. For example, residents may not be willing to participate in other city-organized events and activities. In conclusion, these implications must be properly addressed before assuming that remodeled riverside recreational facilities are truly worthy of their costs.