In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Ingenuity represents the quality of being clever, original, and inventive. To be considered ingenuitive, one does not necessarily have to spend countless hours studying the work of earlier scholars. In fact, the most revolutionary inventions are often discovered by tyros that refused to squelch their creativity and surrender to archaic perspectives. Thus, significant contributions can be made within a certain field without first researching prior achievements and innovations. Furthermore, former knowledge does not accurately predict the cultivation of new ideas for two main reasons. Firstly, the excessive analysis of historic achievements ultimately taints future perspectives and corrupts the development of novel ideas. Secondly, ground-breaking innovations have been accidentally discovered in several fields by newcomers that lack any precognition at all.

Examining the accomplishments attained by exalted predecessors within a particular field can reveal valuable insights, deeper understandings, and an enhanced sense of appreciation. Nonetheless, exposure to this knowledge also permanently alters how future experts approach various subjects within their field of study. Bombarding fresh minds with ritualistic conventions and accepted theories inherently limits their freedom to be creative, explore new approaches, and discover unique solutions. This concept can be illustrated using a simple analogy. Suppose a map displayed on a classroom wall is slightly tilted; however, one student fails to notice this imperfection until his classmate alerts him of its existence. From this moment onward, the student is unable to study the map without noticing its sloped appearance. Burdening the next generation of scholars with the work of their forerunners has the potential to hinder the advancement of their studies, just as the student’s mindful awareness of the map’s flaw polluted his potential to notice different details.

Additionally, the spontaneous emergence of new developments is not influenced by past achievements within related fields. Many of history’s greatest inventions were unintentionally crafted by individuals that were not industry experts devoted to a particular subject. For example, the incidental inception of antibiotics robustly revolutionized the way humans destroy deadly microbes and combat infection. Nonetheless, the first antibiotics were discovered as the result of one microbiologist’s haphazard organization. After leaving a collection of petri dishes in his laboratory overnight, the scientist was astonished to find a lack of bacterial growth on several plates. Upon further investigation, the cause of bacterial death observed on these plates was attributed to a primitive, natural antibiotic present within their agar. Hence, it was the microbiologist’s failure to maintain a clean workspace that lead to the identification of antibiotics, rather than his fundamental understanding of science.

In summary, a thorough comprehension of past achievements is not required to make significant contributions within a specific field. Two primary explanations support this argument. Firstly, remarkable contributions often arise when individuals are encouraged to embrace unique perspectives, independent of current viewpoints. Secondly, past achievements have little influence on the unexpected yet pioneering discoveries. Therefore, studying the past successes of former scholars does not guarantee future eminence in a given field.