Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Heroes and role models play a critical role in society due to their ability to influence the beliefs and actions of others. In order to gain public attention, the qualities portrayed by these notable authorities must certainly be valued and respected by a portion of the population. However, it is difficult to believe that the dynamic disposition of an entire society can be captured by a small group of heroes and role models. The tendency of heroes and role models to be extremely subjective and highly specialized prevents them from accurately representing the mosaic of ideals embodied by a complete society.

A society encompasses individuals of all ages, genders, races, ethnicities, sexualities, religions, political beliefs, and so on. Furthermore, each member of society develops their own unique set of values based on their background, interests, and personal experiences. As a result of these differences, individuals can significantly vary in the amount of worth they assign to certain role models and their corresponding characteristics. For example, political candidates are frequently recognized and applauded for their leadership skills, personality traits, and political perspectives. Nevertheless, politicians have never been able to successfully unite, portray, and protect all the ideals crafted by an entire society. Moreover, the need for multiple political parties proves that a single political role model cannot equally represent the contrasting opinions found within such a broad demographic of people. Thus, examining the character of a particular politician elected by a society would not be the best way to understand all the beliefs and ideals upheld by its members.

In addition to being highly subjective, the messages illustrated by various heroes and role models usually emphasize one or two qualities that appeal to a specific group of like-minded individuals. While the characteristics personified by professional athletes, prominent artists, award-wining actors, and other types of role models are valuable, they do not sufficiently represent the multifaceted ideals needed to construct and maintain a functional society. For instance, the determination and dedication embodied by an Olympic gold-medalist likely inspires many young athletes to practice and improve their skills. Although this high level of determination is very admirable, it may not be the most important factor contributing to the regular operations of a particular, all-inclusive society. Therefore, evaluating the character of role models praised by a narrow subset of the population also omits many other fundamental attributes prioritized by society as a whole.

In conclusion, examining the character of role models selected by society is not the best way to understand the ideals upheld by that society for several reasons. Firstly, role models often represent beliefs upheld by only a fraction of the entire population. This becomes evident when analyzing the impact certain political figures have upon society. Secondly, it is impossible for role models to display all the characteristics respected by an entire society. Instead, role models provide important guidance to other people with similar interests by demonstrating one or two key qualities. Overall, the character of a society should be studied by examining many factors, including governmental systems, cultural traditions, class structures, and so on.