The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

“On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville’s town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The town council of Balmer Island is responsible for preserving and protecting the safety of its residents, businesses, and overall community. As part of its governing duties, the town council must formulate an effective plan to reduce the number of moped accidents observed on the island, particularly during the summer months. Some recommend limiting the number of mopeds distributed across the island from 50 per day to 25 per day as a possible solution. Supporters of this recommendation attest to the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents recorded on Seaville Island as evidence of its potential to save pedestrians and drivers. Nonetheless, several critical questions must be answered prior to determining if the enactment of this regulation is capable of producing similar results on Balmer Island.

Firstly, what alternative forms of transportation will be provided to summer residents if access to mopeds on Balmer Island is reduced? The town council must be prepared to offer its residents an efficient, reliable, and safe mass transportation system before restricting the supply of mopeds. Mass transportation options are needed to accommodate the increase in population on the island during the summer while also reducing the total number of vehicles on the road. Correspondingly, failure to install an effective alternative to mopeds may force residents to rely on other forms of personal transportation, many of which may be even more dangerous than mopeds. For example, high numbers of motorcycles, electric skateboards, segways, and other high-speed personal transportation devices may actually increase traffic congestion and collision rates. Thus, the town council must identify an adequate replacement for mopeds before halving the number of scooters permitted on the island at once.

Secondly, what safety regulations can be implied to reinforce defensive driving techniques? Regardless of the number of vehicles on the road, the town council should do its best to ensure that all operators are exercising proper driver etiquette while behind the wheel. Indeed, it is certainly better to have 50 responsible moped drivers on the road as opposed to 25 reckless drivers. Thus, the town council should consider imposing speed limits, traffic checkpoints, driver background checks, and other safety precautions in order to discourage distracted driving. If correctly incorporated, these restrictions can preserve the moped rental industry, protect pedestrians, and reduce the number of annual moped accidents.

Thirdly, the town council should analyze how Balmer Island differs from Seaville Island before assuming that a single piece of legislation will produce the same outcome on both islands. Most importantly, how does Balmar Island differ from Seaville Island in terms of its population demographic, terrain, transportation statistics, and so on? The town council must consider each of these variables, as well as their influence on the number of yearly moped accidents, before limiting access to mopeds on Balmar Island. Consider the scenario in which Seaville Island is primarily inhabited by families with young children and elderly grandparents, all of which regularly practice safe driving. Furthermore, suppose this island consists of relatively mild terrain and an overall peaceful landscape. Contrastingly, suppose Balmer Island is home to many college students and young adults during the summer months, most of which tend to exceed the speed limit while driving a moped. Combining this population with a potentially rough and rocky terrain on Balmar Island may generate vastly different transportation statistics when compared to Seaville Island. Thus, the town council of Balmer Island must address these differences before presuming that the same solution can prevent moped accidents on both islands.

In conclusion, the town council has many critical factors to examine when debating possible strategies for reducing the number of annual moped accidents on Balmer Island. Within their discussions, the town council should investigate the following questions: what forms of mass transportation will residents have access to once moped usage is constrained? What laws and processes can be created to promote safe driving skills? How does Seaville Island differ from Balmer Island in terms of its population, scenery, and history with mopeds? How will these differences impact public responses to stricter moped guidelines? Thorough answers to these crucial questions are needed for the town council to make a well-informed decision regarding the safety of its humble community.