The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store to attact more customers. Although a new cafe may allow Monarch Books to obtain additional income, the author doesn't provides enough evidence to support the argument. In order to provide an accurate prediction, the author need to provide more details, as discussed below.

In order to support the suggestion that Monarch Books should make rooms for the cafe by discontinuing the childern's book section, the author mention the data from the most recent national census. Although the census suggest a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, it is questionable to assume that the national trend will be usful to predit the population of childerns in the local areas. It is possible that the number of childern under age ten will continuly increase around the neighborhoods. In order to answer the question that what is the trend of population under age ten in the local area, the author needs provide research and cence data for the local areas.

What is more, even though if the population under age ten around the neighborhoods is decreasing, it is questionable to assume that the childern's book will become less popular as well. It is possible that every parents would prefer to spend more money on the childern's books because they value more about the childern's education. It is also likly that a new book from a childern's writer become very popular, just like what happened when J.K. Rolling published the Harry Potter and the Sourcer's Stone. In order to provide a more reasonable recommendation, the author need to provide more research data about the childern's book market to answer the question if the childern's books will be popular in the next few years. Only if the author can provide evidence to suggest that the childern's book market is declining, the author's recommendation would seem reasonable.

Finally, the author suggest that opening a cafe will allow Monarch to better compete with Regal Books. Althoguh it is reasonable to believe that opening a cafe will attract more customers, it is problematic to suggest that following what Regal Books will help Monarch to get a better result. It is possible that even though the cafe attract more new customers come to the stores, old customers decides no longer to visit Monarch because they think Monarch no longer has wide selection of books as it claimed to be. The author need to provide more evidence to evaluate if opening a cafe will help not only attract more new customers but also not to loose any.

In summary, in order to justify the recommendation that Monarch Books should open a new cafe, the author need to provide more evidence to answer the question about how the childern's book market will go in the future, and if it is reasonable to not only attract new customers but also incites people to visit again.