The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The writer of the recommendation contends that the new opening of a cafe inside the book store will allow more customers. The writer persuades the reader by explaining making a cafe inside the book store won’t significantly affect the amount of books they install and makes a good appeal to the customers. However, there are some misconstrues that writer mismatched.

The writer mentioned a wide selection of books on all subjects which allows the store to have a large customer base. It is true that when there are enough amount of books, people may get more attraction of visiting the place. However, we have to look close whether it is the main reason to Monarch Books. If the book store is located near massive population inhabitation buildings such as a group of apartments, the reason of popularity is not variety of books, it is the large amount of customers. For example, there is a book store at Jamsil station which lasted for more than 10 years has daily average thousands of customers going in and out of the book store. It also contains enormous amounts of books, but the main reason why it could sustain for more than a decade is that it is right beside the station which make a lot of people who use the subway give an opportunity to visit the place.

Also, decision that eliminating children’s book section and build a café at the same place may be a bed decision. The writer made such conclusion because the indication of significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. However, the writer only examined the most recent national census which misses the possibility of the decline could be temporary. The census right before the most recent one could may show that the percentage is gradually increasing. Not to mention about that the census data was national, therefore the percentage of the young child of the region could be still rising.

The reason why Monarch Books has a competitive relationship with Regal Books may not be the existence of the cafe. The point that the costumer weigh between Monarch and Regal is not profoundly examined and concluded in the article. The point may be how much wide range of books that the store contains. In this case, the conclusion of getting rid of the children’s book section won’t be the wise decision. Approving the opening of cafe by introducing the competitor’s cafe opening could be a mismatch because there is not data whether the number of customer declined and the number of the opponent’s customer increased after the opening the café in the Regal books.

For these reasons, the writer should reconsider the thought of constructing a café inside the book store.