It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are generated and preserved.

It is important for a nation to have a particular culture but it becomes one of the main identity to be as a nation. No wonder that every nations in the world use their strength to examine where the cultural tradition occurred and where the preserve it. The statement explains that cities are the primary source of the creation and the preservation of the culture. I agree that a nation’s cultural traditions are generated in cities but disagree that the cities are the place where we preserve the traditions.

There are several standards for dividing the city and the rural area, and one of them is the population. When the population is big enough to become the representative of the area, people prefer to build important buildings to support such representation such as city hall or education establishment. By this process, people starts to make more and more interactions with other people, creating new inventions, discoveries and foundations. From those innovations, citizens will choose several innovations which is good enough to descend to their further generation. The ideas that descended through generation eventually become tradition. Most of the discoveries or foundations that become a tradition today started in cities such as Christian which was generated in Israel and flourish in Rome.

Ironically, this is exactly the reason why the cities is not a good place to preserve cultural traditions. Because of enormous amount of interaction due to huge population and the complexity of the city system, the city impose oneself be creative and become new. It means there would be and should be advent of new ideas every time. It means the new idea that became a tradition because it is good enough could not stay at the city anymore and moves to the rural area. One of the exemplar will the population distribution of traditional technology preservation masters in Korea. Except for some special cases that the master should stay at the city such as architect of the Korean Palace, most of the traditional technology masters stays at the rural area because the source or it ingredients of the technology don’t exist in the city any more because they are too old fashioned or not efficient anymore to use in city life.

For such reason, I partly agree that the advent of cultural traditions occurs in the city but partly disagree that the preservation of cultural traditions mostly happens on the rural area.