Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Making a choice between the solution of urgent problems and the preparation of future matters has always been a controversial issue to both individual and social identity. The argument is stating that the government should focus on the immediate problems of today. However, it is quite complicated problem to just nod one’s head and accept the proponents’ request. Governments should decide its policy based on two things - urgency and importance.

The partisans of the argument contend that the most important aspect of the policy is how much the problem which will be solved by approving the policy is urgent. For example, when the hurricane struck the nation, it is the nation’s number one duty to bring the refugees from the hell and provide them a proper shelter and food, using all the energy to repair the facilities of the area. however, imagine that the nation’s economy growing rate is slowly attenuating simultaneously. Economy problem won’t be on the surface because the economy growing rate itself is still above zero. Still, it is the anticipated problems of the future that the followers speak out loud that it is less important than saving people of devastated area which may be more important because when the nation’s economy go downward, there would be insufficient money to support them. Just focusing on everyday problems which are right beneath the nose would produce a shortsighted government. The urgency is not the only estimation points on decision making.

On the other hand, the opponents of the statement protest that governments should be trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. My point saying no the proponents doesn’t mean the government should only estimate the possibility of the effect that the anticipated problems of the future will bring and establish the policy based on the estimation. It would be hilarious if the government is building factories that will bring a huge profit 10 years later when the population is starving today. The wise government will consume their budget on agricultural industries.

It is important to the government to determine the hierarchy about the importance and urgency of problem at the state of policy planning. By quantifying about how urgent the problem is at the same level with how important the problem which is predicted is and evaluating the balance, the government should decide on which one they should do first or which side that the government should give more weight as the government approve the policies at the same time.

Either extremism is not a best way. Setting tranquility as a motto of the government will bring flourish and happy nation.