"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The society always need a leader, the person that shows the guidence of the group and encourage others by giving each one of them a proper job to do. The importance of the leader created the word leadership. the statement says that the leadership should be instilled by a sense of cooperation and I agree on the statement.

The opponents of the statement would contend that the society needs a leader whose ability is the best among the others and during the process of choosing such leader, it is inevitable to compete with each other. It is true that to select whom is at the first place, the member of the group should compare with one another and compete which one is better. The method of competition is effective when it comes to the problem who is the best on the field. During the elementary education of Korea, for example, the students acquire the number that shows personal academic achievement every semester. if the number is low, the student will get motiavation to enhance one's skill and if the number is high, the student will think oneself to maintain it. From these positive feedbacks, the Korean students could enhance their ability higher compare to other countries. The data of international competition results shows that this is true : Korea always rank at the top. Being competitive does actually help to make the individual with the best ability.

However, defining leader as a person who has the best ability won't make the society a better place. No matter the size of the group, from the world to even a team for a purpose of a single simple presentation, everyone work with each other. The appropriate action that the leader should take is applying appropriate amount of work based on ability that each person has and make the group run more effectively. If the leader had only instilled the sense of competition, not cooperation, the leader won't have thinked that others have also something to do for the society. Rather, the leader will try to bring competition into the society, which will only bring anxiety because they won't help each other. The heart of the leader should be fillled with what could be done with the leader's participants, not what kind of thing that the leader is better than others.

Because the leadership is being as a group not above a group, the statement is quite true to me.