The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers,

artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are over 200 nations in the world and despite of being wrong to say which nation is better than the other, there are some nations that others set as a role model country, the country which shows the right and fair path. The statement contends that when the world decide which nation is the great nation, the general welfare of its people is the surest indicator, not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientist. It is true because the nation should provide better quality of life to citizens in general and general welfare means the nation has financial, psychological margin which don’t have to invest on other parts such as economy or social systems. Even though the individual achievements, despite of its greatness, sometimes do not directly connect to nationwide development.

To be a great nation, the citizens of the nation should be provided sufficient happiness by the government. Money is not only factor of happiness, but it surely assures a certain level of happiness. If dollars and pennies are supported by the nation, it could be told that the citizens are generally happy. The good exemplar would be located at the Northern European countries. countries such as Norway provide free education to adolescents which enhance social cognitive ability and social safety net that make citizens less worry about the losing job crisis. Because of such general welfare, the general happiness of such nations among others are relatively high.

Also, to be a great nation, the nation itself should have financial, psychological margin that could investigate to the citizens. By providing enough service to their own, people from other countries will think that the nation is sustainable and powerful. Think about the companies that we consider good. Most of the good companies spend quite amount of profit to their R&D section because they recognize that investing to themselves is the best way to sustain their greatness, even increase it. As considering a similarity of social group, the estimation of nation’s greatness won’t have big difference.

The opponents of the statement would contend that the general welfare could be one of the indicator, but the surest one is the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists because it could dramatically enhance the nation’s ability and status by applying them on the policy the country is making.

However, such view is quite myopic because the personal achievement does not always directly link to the development of the country. Einstein, who is eminent scientist of all time, was born in Germany and he was German citizen. Despite of such incredible achievements in physics, it did not directly link to dramatic development of Germany. Also, even such great achievements were not occurred from the one’s citizens, it is adequately possible to import and apply to one’s system. Actually, if the nation is great enough, the individual would be willing to migrate for bigger and wider research. It is the solid fact that the Einstein immigrate from Germany to us, which is generally considered a great nation, and encouraged to enhance the scientific ability of us and make us the greater nation.

In conclusion, to estimate whether the nation is great, it is essential to check the general welfare because it links to general happiness and only the nation with sufficient margin could provide general welfare.