The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The personnel director recommends to the president of Acme publishing company that all employees should take the Easy read course because it brings great benefits by paying relatively small price. Although the recommendation seems logical, there are several logical fallacies and misconstrue that the director neglected.

First, it is opaque mentioning the other companies that stated their employees has greatly improved productivity by taking the course. The other companies mentioned in the recommendation may be irrelevant to the publishing company. If the manufacturing companies, which main job is to make to manufacturing machines sustainable, stated such sentence, it would be unreliable because there is scarce relation between the manufacturing and publishing. Also, there are no standards confirming that the productivity has actually increased. Without knowing them, there is no way to verify how much the productivity has actually improved. To make the claim reliable, there should be data explaining which kinds of companies stated that and the precise principles measuring the productivity improvement.

Second, there are insufficient number of graduates of the course who got the benefit of it. The article showed only two graduates as an example, not a group of graduates saying their skills got better at the survey. Furthermore, it may have other factors that the graduates of the course reading such a thick report or getting promoted in such a speed. The examples may also attend another job specializing courses and they got the benefits from that courses. To validate the claim, the director should provide enough amount of data which shows relevant relation between the course and the efficiency of work.

Also, it is not shown that the relation between the velocity of reading and the amount of absorbed information is proportional. It may be true that when the person read faster, the one could read more information. However, reading the information and absorbing the information is different problem. If the one read too fast, the information may be understood superficially. To explain “obviously” as it mentioned, the director should provide verified research which shows reading reports in a rush doesn't harm profound understanding of the report.

Finally, the fee which is paid for the program may not be as cheep as the president thought. If the course is given one hour per week, there will be only three hours provided during the whole course. The other employees might have attend not a single courses but several courses continuously. In this case, the cost for improving productivity doubles, triples or even more. To provide the recommendation appropriate, the director should explain to the president that the three-week seminar is enough to improve the productivity.

In conclusion, the director should provide more squared data and explanation to make the claim acceptable.