Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

The knowledge and wisdom that the humanity have stacked is accumulating every year which means the basic requirement of being educated is becoming higher and higher. More and more people want to go to universities and get higher education. But it doesn’t mean everyone who are heading to higher level school have enough money. I agree that to some students who are talented but don’t have enough money to afford the tuition fee, the government have some responsibility to raise a fund to them. However, it would be quite out of point if the government support all the students who don’t have the tuition.

Some proponents of the statements would contend that the government has the responsibility to support the people who are willing going to the university because it would be unfair to take their chances just because of money. It seems plausible because the purpose of the university is to give didactic messages on the aspects of both life and major to people who are willing to get it, not an exchangment of cash and education. Also, according to the statistics, the percentage of university graduated population become as twice as big comparing to those of 50 years ago. The data of statistics is telling us that more people are willing going to the university and the government should at least give people chance.

However, we should think about the side effects if the government starts paying all the tuition. The biggest side effect would be emergence of “weak” universities. Rather than teaching students about life and enhancing them to specialized scholar, those universities are focused on government’s support to poor students. On the apparent aspect they say that they will educate well, in the inside they use money in a different way. For example, about 15% of universities in Korea which are currently running and getting support from the nation didn’t get the approval from the ministry of education because they did insufficient education compare to tuition fee. Instead, they used it on professor’s private trips and parties. Another side effect would be people might be imposed to go to university because everyone go to university. They may feel isolated if they are the only one who don’t have a degree and be forced going to the university. It means the government should support all of them, lavishing nation’s budget.

Because of these side effects, I recommend that government should first select valid students by passing some kind of trial. Those valid students would be talented enough to understand what the professors have taught and helpful to nation in the future but don’t have enough money. Thinking about the side effects of giving money to everyone who can’t afford the money, it would be better to support only to good students.