Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As the anticipated lifetime of human become longer, the education system through out the world has become sophisticated and complicated. Starting from elementary school to graduated school, people get their education for one or two decades. The statement suggest the policy that during those years the system of education should actively encourage students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers. In my opinion, the rightness of the statement depends on what stage of education the policy should be started.

Advocates who believe that it should be started at the embryonic stage of education contend that the nation should help students to learn the fields of study which will be suitable to oneself as soon as possible. The length of life time is limited and the length of time that they could easily absorb the information that they had been taught is even more circumscribed. For instance, we hear things that when we learn language such as English or French after the stage of adolescence, it became difficult to learn because the brain starts to lose the ability of learning new language. It is true because the brain area that controls language starts to get “stiff” when a person become a teenager.

However, learning a new language and choosing a field of study that will be helpful for the future career is totally a different matter. The advocates should rewind their memories when they were young before expressing their ideas. Are they affirmative to speak out loud that the fields they took in the past that have no relationship with current career do not have a single influence? No one could deny that any kind of experiences and educations in the past eventually enhance and flourish both a person’s life and wisdom. No one knows from where they will get the seed of inspiration that benefits the career in the future. Did Steve Jobs know that one day the calligraphy lecture he took when he was university student will be helpful when he designed the revolutionary device, Apple 2?

I recommend that until high school or even university, the education institutions should let students what they want to learn for the sake of diversity and creativity that will change the world some day. Thinking about the world trend which is academic pluralism, rather this is what should be actively encouraged. The diversity and creativity occurs through linking two seperate fields and to link those two, the student should understand both side profoundly. On the other hand, it would be definite to encourage graduate students to choose courses for lucrative careers. The purpose of graduate school education is to build a specialist that would lead the field some day, so it would be unwise to let the student dig wide but shallow well of knowledge.

Considering the acedemic trend which is combining seperate fields and encouraging creativity, it would be wiser to recommend the diversity of the field for most cases.