2. Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

The word utopia means “an ideal world” but it means “no where” at the first place. In Latin, “u-” means “not exist” and “topia” means “area or place”. When we talk about an ideal world, we subconsciously agree that there are no such place. Some fields of study such as English literature that needs imagination may mention and discuss about something that does not exist, however the study that has close relativity with reality such as politics doesn’t need such thing. The goal of politics should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Some people claim that as the goal of politics itself can be something we could not grasp. During the journey heading to the goal, we could get some valuable, sometimes more valuable than the goal itself. Aristotle, an ancient Greek philosopher and politician, said a philosopher should rule the untopia. He wrote various and reasonable reasons why the philosopher king is the most efficient system. On the other hand, Marx who a modern German philosopher didn’t like the idea of a king. He said that at utopia every men should work together and divide the products equally. Marx also explained at his book why his politic policy is the best. There are hundreds of respectful philosopher who thought seriously about the politics in utopia like Aristotle and every one of them said different things. If there are hundreds of ways that all of them is the best way, how we are going to choose? Just thinking the progress of choosing it, I could see the everlasting turmoil.

Even we choose the best policy, just following an ideal could be a deleterious poison. The ideal could become before the reality. In Korea, there were controverial issue about whether opening an hearing of nominated law minister candidate. He was definitely turned left, so there were an huge debate between the left party and the right party. Despite of illegal and immoral things that the family of the candidate done, the left party supported him. On the other hand, the right party attack verbally and even insulted him just because he standed at the left side. If we look carefully at the policy that the candidate will do when he become minister of law and the things that his wife and daughter done, we can’t just support or oppose him. The ideal of the party shallowed the eyes of the politicians.

The goal of politics is to decide what kind of policy will be good for everyone, not just suggest that every direction has their own benefits. If we just look and run to “utopia” like an eye-covered race horse, we will see ourself going to no where.