In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

politics is a complex area of study. The word politics refer to anything that is related to political parties, government and their activities. some people believe that politician aim for the idealism, while on the other hand, some says that one should seek common grounds that are acceptable to all parties. I believe that looking for common ground is more reasonable since it deals with all the side without creating resentment among any group. Moreover, ideality is not always achievable. however, in some circumstance seeking idealism helps us to improve ourselves.

To begin with, ideality is a subjective term. therefore, what is ideal for one is could be different or even opposite from the ideal of others. For example, weather there some should be same education system across the country or not has always been the topic of debate amongst people. some believe that the having the same system will promote unity and level of understanding in students. while on the other hand, some says that having more than one system allows for diversity amongst students and give varieties to student in term of which education system to follow. this example shows that the ideal situation vary from person to person and what one might feel ideal might not be same for other.

Furthermore, idealism will not always achievable. For example, to fight the growing threat of environmental concern and global warming, an ideal situation would be to shut down all the coal based power plants. however, this could result in power shortages and loss of jobs for many. Instead, a government should seek reasonable ground by reducing the amount of electricity generated through coal power plant gradually while increasing the generation through clean technology. although, this gradual shift will not immediately lessen carbon footprints, but it will prevent us from facing any power shortages and jobs lost. therefore, implementing ideal measure can sometime bring negative outcome, and therefore government should seek common ground.

however, in some circumstances seeking ideal situation can help us to improve. For instance, an ideal scenario for a traffic police department would be zero traffic accidents on roads. although, this might feel impossible, pursuing such a goal will keep the department to continuously improve their performance. In order to reduce accident on the road to zero, traffic police department would become more strict in enforcing traffic rules and fining people for traffic violation unless the traffic situation become ideal. this example shows that how in some situation the pursuit of idealism can help us to improve further and further until that ideality is achieve. therefore, in some circumstance seeking idealism helps us in beneficial ways.

In summary, politician should seek reasonable consequences in most cases since ideality differ from person to person; also ideality is not always achievable. however, in some cases idealism help us to improve ourselves.