The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is a group of people living together and striving for a common cause. The prompt claim that living condition of the society is enhanced when the people in society question the ways in which they are being governed. questioning the authority bring more accountability of the government, and prevent those in power from taking any action that can have negative consequences. moreover, it makes government more productive. therefore, I believe with the prompt that the society achieves more through the accountability of those in power.

To begin with, this causes more the public department from engaging in corruption through the system of accountability. For example, if the Mayor of a city has to publish financial report of all the spending every year on city infrastructure making people aware of how money from their taxes are used on different area, then it will made hard for the those in municipal department to involve in corruption and illegal allocation of funds. therefore, when public closely monitor the activities of those in authority, those in power become more answerable for all the spending through accountability, and this prevent the department from involving in corrupt activities. Hence, public funds are used in the correct way.

moreover, since the policies of government directly affects the general population, questioning the authority will make the government retract any decision that people find offensive. For example, last year government of Pakistan, in order to widen the tax net, increased taxes on various good, this caused a significant rise in inflation. However, due to public protests against the unreasonable taxes imposed the government has to reverse the taxes on various good. this example shows that how by asking the government of their actions, public can make the government to stop taking action that have negative consequences on the common man.

Furthermore, its increase the productivity of the government through sense of competition. when authority knows that their actions are closely being monitored by the public, they try to win the trust of people by improving their performance. this causes each government to do most in their term. During elections people’s decision is based on the performance of political parties. therefore the sense of competition causes the political parties to do more government projects and serve to the public demand in order to win their trust. All this has positive impact on the society in term of improved condition of people.

In summary, when people question authority the condition people are improved significantly. it bring accountability and prevent the official from engaging in corruption, it allows the people to gives their opinion of government matter and make the government revoke any bad decision that hurt the public. moreover, it increase productivity through competition. Such characteristics that come through the public concern regarding the government actions have beneficial effect on the lives of people of society.