Three years ago because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve though in larger

By demonstrating the similarity between the two preserves, the author believes that the predators in the Eastern preserve are responsible for the extinction of the western gazelles, who moved to the Eastern preserves three years ago. It is easy to understand why predators can cause extinction, but this argument is subject to flawed reasoning and insufficient evidence.

To begin with, the author claims that the two preserves provide a similar environment for the gazelles to live by citing the similarity of species and the uniformity of weather. This argument, however, is missing details and evidence. The author admits that the number of rainfall differs across these two areas, but he does not provide data and statistics to prove this argument. Instead, the author should have made it clear how much the rainfall differs and why this tiny difference would not negatively impact the western gazelle. It is especially significant to claim why such difference is negligible to western gazelles, as sometimes a small change in weather means a lot to animals.

Moreover, the author implicitly claims that western can survive the new environment since eastern gazelles can. There is a supposition that western and eastern require similar living conditions and they mingle with each other. However, it is possible that they prefer different weather or they fight to compete for territories. Thus, the author should add more evidence to show the western gazelle, theoretically, can survive in the new preserve.

Building upon the assumption that the difference in rainfall is negligible, the author believes that predators are, instead, responsible for the extinction. In order to prove this claim, the author should clarify either what predators it is and how the extinction happens, or why all the other factors are cannot lead to the extinction. The author, however, fails to achieve either. On the countray, he should briefly describe which species the predator is, how frequent the gazelle is killed, and how does the predator impact the gazelle population to strengthen his argument. Without these details justified, the claim is rife with holes.

Last but not least, there can be some other reason that explains for the extinction. For example, it might be the case that there is an inherited disease among the group of western gazelle and their extinction is not subject to the change of environment. In addition, it might be due to more intense sunlight or higher humidity. Obviously, there are hundreds of factors influencing the survival of gazelle, and we just cannot exclude them all.