Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

According to some people, the ultimate aim of politics should be to pursue an ideal without compromising on any of the pre-set objectives. this would mean being obdurate in your approach & not letting yourself deviate from your path come what may. such an approach does give a sense of strength & clarity in what you desire to achieve. In fact, many citizens end up voting for candidates who have a well-defined motto.

this is primarily because they feel such a candidate will fight in their interests and won't budge untill he gets what he or she set out to attain. China for example has a one single party ruling, they thus don't have to be concerned about the opinions of every politician, which would only make the process more time consuming. it has effectively cut down the excessive red tape which exists almost abundantly everywhere in the world.

Contrastingly, not every quick decison would neccesarily be the right decision. Undue haste in formulating and implementing public policies like medical reforms might have catastrophic results. it is crucial to involve more people in deliberating over such decisions. I strongly believe finding common ground and reaching consensus would lead to better and more effective decision making, notwithstanding the time delay. Democracies are built on these principles of collaborative approach; even if in most cases the collaborators don't look eye to eye. When everyone's point of view is looked through and understood the chances of making a wrong decison are substantially reduced. Consequently no one feels undermined and there is also a scope for equal representation. The ruling party voted in by the majority might not have a fair representation of minorities in its ranks . In such a case it is crucial to ensure all the voices are heard equally. this can be done by colalborating with all concerned groups and taking a decision in the best interest of everyone.