There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species

The prompt puts forth two sets of views. one suggests that the society should try and save every plant and animal species irrespective of the expense incurred to humans in terms of effort, time and money. The other side recommends that there is no pressing need to make extraordinary efforts to save endangered species. I reject the first set of view outright, while support the latter. however, would prefer to contextualize the second set of view to make it even more acceptable.

To start with, we need to gauge the number of different plants and animal species on Earth before we can attempt to save them. Sadly, the number is inestimable. The reason is--it’s too hard even with our advanced equipments and expansive research methods. there are just too many different species out there; some with such subtle differences which make it nearly impossible to discern them. The failure to enumerate different species precludes the efficacy of our efforts to save them. it is in simple words, an impractical task. Now, it may possible that most known species can be saved, however going all in with time, effort and money is not a provident option. we need to be more calculative. like any other decision we take in our lives or in fact the methodology involved in every decision-making process, we need to do a cost-benefit analysis. one expected counterargument would be—how can we quantify benefit in this case? benefit is in fact misleading for this case and we should rather use cost-effect analysis. Here, the effect would be the projected increase in numbers of the species in the coming years. The ability to sustain the surge and ensure no run away reactions like excessive proliferation of one of the species at the expense of others. The situation calls for pragmatism over sentiment. Also, it may not be possible to save a dying species after all. For example, a species may have stopped adapting to the changes in weather and climate, which by the way, involves human as complicits to a large extent. For such species, spending any amount of money won’t be fruitful because the probability of their eventual survival is so very low. Again, a cerebral approach is needed to make the right decision in such a case.

we thus need to more open minded when it comes to saving animal and plant species on the fringe. some of the factors that we should take into consideration apart from time and money is the relative importance of a given species. For example, a rare insect species with 12 legs might be the only one of its kind, whereas an endangered spider species has similar other species. it is clear as to which species should be given more focus. The above example aptly illustrates that we need to decide on a case-by-case basis. Further, the funds saved through logical decision making might have a better use; like investing in R&D of more cost effective and efficacious methods to save dying species.

To sum it up, I agree that no extraordinary efforts need to be taken in terms of time, money and efforts to save endangered species. however, I’d like to add that we need to take a final call on case-by-case basis, because some species might just be too precious to lose.