There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The extent to which government should support to save endangered animal or plant species has complicated in its implication. Admittedly, I agree that in underdeveloped countries, improving economy should be emphasized as priority and thus there is little justification for a society to make extraordinary-efforts to save endangered creatures. However, for many relatively developed countries, protecting endangered aninal or plant species is essential as doing so would improve working and living environment and contribute to subsistent development.

As for those less advantaged societies, business or economic conditions are much more paramount than protecting species. if people are suffered from hunger, homeless or unsafety, then putting much money and effort on saving biocycle is meaningless. Sience the government bugets are usually limited, especially in those nations, every expenditure has to considered carefully to benefit most people. it would be more useful if government can spend money on subsidying those who are in danger, providing shelters and necessities to the public instead of costing much money on endangered animal. Demands from human beings should have higher priority than those from other parts. In addition, protecting animal and species should be long-term processes. once we start doing so, the societies should prepare much more sufficient money in the following support because of unstability in nature and uncertainty in environement.

Although the argument is held when we consider the cases in underdeveloped nations, which should put more stress on economic development, we should overestimate the significance of such statement. More importantly, such argument is not supported when big cities are taken into consideration.

To begin with, majority citizens in developed countries or cities no longer need to worry about basic needs. most of them are wealth enough to support their lives. under this circumstance, they would pursue something outside of material goods, such as happiness. to be sure, there is strong relationship between external environment and internal satisfication. when people are able to breathe fresh air and gain opportunity to touch with nature, they are more likely to gain pure delight. The government make efforts to save endangered animal or plant species would lay solid ground for better enviroment. once different kinds of species are conserved, the divesity in nature is increased, which strengthening self-recovery capability and providing better neiborhoods for residents. In addition, not only utilities or standards of living of local people have been enhanced dramatically, people are more prone to improve work efficieny under better working and living environment. As a result, nation will be further strengthened owing to more output from increased effectiveness.

Moreover, as for those relatively advantaged societies, their responsibility is no longer restricted to wealth and prosperity of current people, they should also focus on and prepare for their future generations. Leaders in the society should strive for better environment and greater resources for the youth. if endangered species does not get proper help from human, they are likely to extinct due to factors such as competition for limited food resources or trend of global warming. following this way, more and more even currently abundant animals or plants would disappear permaneantly, because our bio-system is a hyper-interdependent body. Any small change in this system might cause irraprable negative influences on the entire world around us. thus, it is necessary to preserve them. Some might worry the extraodinary costs when implementing such policies. Nonetheless, we have to acknowledge that compared to the potential benefit brought to current and future residents, these money and jobs are relatively small and will eventually be paid off.

In conclusion, I do concede that taking efforts to save endangered animal or plant species is groundless for societies whose primary goal is to satisfy basic living for their citizens. On the contrary, there is never little justification to do so in developed countries. All these extraordinary efforts would be paid off and will benefit the current and next generations in both environment and economy.