Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The author proposes that interview-centered method will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in island of Tertia than observation-centered approach. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, results from Dr. Field's observation-centered approach shows children in Tertia were reared by an entire village whereas recent interviews by Dr. Karp indicate that children spend more time talking about their biological parents. The issue has its own merit, but due to lack of relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author fails to provide the information about the change of Tertia over the past twenty years. Dr. Field conducted his observation twenty years ago and it is plausible that the child-rearing traditions has changed dramatically. Kids were fostered by entire village twenty years ago but are fostered by their parents today because of tradition revolution or new settlement. Both methods contribute to the credible conclusions, in this case. The chronological comparison is unwarranted since they measure disparate time dimensions.

Moreover, the author assumes that the result of his/her recent interview is credible and convincing. The assumption seems valid at first glance. Nonetheless, after careful investigation, some questions remain unexamined. The interview about the children living in group of island might not be accurate and representative. The author fails to provide the detailed information about the whole interview processes and sample space. How long is the interview? What are the content of questionnaires? How many people took part in the survey? Who are the target participants? If the interview was based on only a few children, they are not able to represent the all the children today who are reared in the island of Tertia. We are not able to draw any conclusion about the rearing method only based on the outcome of the interview above.

The interview result, in addition, shows that more kids spend much more time talking with their parents. Nevertheless, the time spending talking with their parents does not necessarily mean they are raised by their biological parents. Their parents might just be responsible for talking to their kids. Many other resources and opportunities provided to kids during their grown-up are offered by the entire village, such as education chances, food, caring and so on. The conclusion got from the ambiguous definition of rearing is unlikely to get support to the author's argument.

Last but not least, we are not offered information about details of Dr. Karp's interview-centered approach. Is it properly designed? Is it objective? In addition, this experiment is done in various islands, so that we do not know exact number of researches done in Tersia. Even though interview method is grounded, when many results were drawn from other islands, naturally there is discrepancy between two researchers. It is, furthermore, too naive to conclude that interview-centered method is inherently more valid than observational-centered approach. In order to fully evaluate this claim, we need to study more examples of interview-based and observational-based anthropological results respectively.

To sum up, as it stands, the author's conclusion is drawn by incomplete evidences that undermine its validity. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is recommended to provide the evidences as follows: first, whether child-rearing tradition changes significantly in Tertia over the past twenty years; second, more details about interview and observational methods by two researchers; third, the correctness and extension of Dr. Karp's conclusion.