Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

The conclusion that Dr. Field's observation which is based on observation centered approach is invalied due to numerous reasons primarily because of unwarranted assumptions that the demographic, ethnic, and physical structure available 20 years ago when Dr. Field made is observation is still available now when the author made his claims.

20 years is enough time for the ethnic structure of a comunty to be changed. The author may have done his research when the children lived with their parents rather than 20 years ago where the community live together as a clan. The claim by the author that the observation of Dr. Field is invalid fails to realise that the conclusion reached are at differet times. If the author had mentioned that they lived the same way as 20 years ago then the conclusion would have being right.

The evidence that the children talk of their biological parents may have being that their parents are no more living and now they are the responsibility of the whole comunity. As such, claiming that they Dr. Fields observation is invalid would be wrong as the children may be talking of their parent in the light that they miss them or are remembering their parents rather than claiming they are raised by their parents.

Due to the unwarranted assumptions, it fails to convince that the method of research by Dr. Field would be invalid