The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.(78/114/116/117)

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

In the memo, it is argued that Buzzoff should be selected over Fly-away as the pest control service provider to reduce pest damage. In order to assess the conclusion, we need more evidence about the past performance of the two companies, the two warehouses and detailed costs of pest control and projected loss.

It is over simplistic to conclude that Buzzoff is more effective in pest control than Fly-away based on the fact that the loss at Buzzoff site is smaller than the warehouse served by Fly-away. One important factor to consider is the total value of the goods stored in the two warehouses. With this information, we can then calculate the percentage of loss relative to the total value and assess the effectiveness of the two pest control services. Another issue we need to consider is the different kinds of pests and food found in the two warehouses. Maybe Fly-away has lost more goods simply because the pests they need to handle are more challenging or the food is more vulnerable. More detailed comparative analysis is needed before drawing a conclusion.

In addition, it is inadequate to compare just one month’s record of servicing one warehouse. To get a more comprehensive picture of the competence of the two companies, we need to review the pest control records of the two companies in the past 10-20 years. We should get as much data as possible about how the two companies performed in pest control in order to predict the loss of food caused by pest if a given company is hired.

Finally, we also need more precise information about the pricing of the two companies and other costs such as human resources required to cooperate with the companies. With more detailed information about the prices and other costs, along with the predicted loss, we can then decide which company could provide the least costly services.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion is relied in several unanswered questions. To further support the argument, the memo ought to provide more information as follows: first, what are the major causes of difference in pest damage; second, whether one month record is convincing; last, whether Buzzoff is the best way to save money.