The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of a large group hospitals indicates that supplying ultraclean at all hand throughout hospital system is beneficial to preventing serious patient infections. To buttress his/her argument, the memo cites the following evidences: first, ultraclean hand soap produced a 40 precent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than currently used liquid hand soap in a controlled laboratory; second, due to usage of ultraclean, their hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patitent infection than did any of other hospitals. Though the issue has its own merit, owing to lack of convincing evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the memo suggests the result of comparison between ultraclean and normally used liquid hand soap in a controlled loboratory. however, we have to notice that the impact and effectiveness of these two kinds hand soap are tested under the well-designed environment, which does not necessarily apply to the our true living cirstumstances. There can be multiple variance between laboratory and hospital, such as the type of bacteria. For example, harmful bacteria perhaps have various properties in the hopital, and they are more likely to spread within groups of people. if bacteria behaves differently in the human environment, then the result in the lab is unpersuasive.

Moreover, the author unfairly ascribes the fact that fewer cases of infection in their hospital to the effectiveness of ultraclean. many other potential factors remain unexamined. it is plausible that their hospital has fewer patients than any other ones, so results in fewer cases of infection. In addition, this hospital can also have fewer serious patients who are susupetible to the infection. In this case, it is natural that less people would be infected. Therefore, the major cause behind fewer cases of infection might not be solely the impact of ultraclean. Furthermore, the number of hospital reported does not necessarily the correct the amount of patient infection. reporter, hoping to advocate the use of ultraclean, might underestimate the true infected patients.

Last but not least, the author assumes that supplying ultraclean at all hand throught hospital systems is essential to prevent serious patient infection. however, such assumption, although seems valid at first glance, is invalid after further investigation. The author fails to provide the detailed information of the test. Was ultraclean provided at all hand-washing stations during this test? How many doctors, nurses, and visitors participated in this case respetively? did all kinds of patients involve in the test? The test, addly, took place only in worktown. What if worktown is very different from other hospitals in their hospital systems? is worktown able to represent all characteristics of whole hospital systems? Without answering the aforementioned questions, we cannot draw any conclusion about the feasibility of this proposal. The memo also forgets to mention the total cost of supplying ultraclean at all hand. does the benefit exceed the cost largely? if individual price of ultraclean is much higher than hand soap that they are currently using, and the reduction is minor, then it is not reasonable to advocate such replacement.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion in the memo is relied on several questionable assumptions and incomplete evidences. In order to further strengthen the argument, the director is recommended to add the evidences as follows: first, whether ultraclean is more effective in preventing infection not only limited to laboratory, but also in normal environement; second, whether ultraclean is the major cause behind reduction of patient infection, after excluding all other possible factors; third, whether ultraclean is advantaguous in the entire hospital system.