The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals quot In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful

The director of a large group of hospitals, stated that use of the Ultra clean hand soaps throughout the hospital is more beneficial than the use of liquid hand soaps as it helps in preventing people from serious health infections. In order to buttress his/her argument the memo adduced by providing the data which states 40% greater reduction in harmful bacteria than currently used liquid soaps in controlled laboratory as well as, due to the use of ultraclean, there are exiguous amount of cases of patient infection than other hospitals. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, there are certain quandaries that needs to be addressed.

First of all, memo suggests the result of comparison between two ultraclean and liquid soaps which are tested under a laboratory temperature, so the result might vary when it is tested on the true living circumstances. So, the effectiveness and impact cannot be fully determined by this result. For example, in lab before performing any kind of test laboratory temperature are maintained, apparatus are sterilized and incubation zone are created, hence harmful bacteria might be resistant to such situation whereas if such bacteria are found on the environment then it might act differently, then result might be unpersuasive.

Secondly, author ascribes another the fact that fewer cases of infection due to the effectiveness of ultraclean soaps in their hospitals as compared to other hospitals but many other factors remained unexamined. It is plausible that there hospitals might have fewer patients than other hospitals so there is less infection. Similarly, there hospital might have less number of immunocompromised person who are perhaps resistant to such kind of bacteria and hence less infection. Therefore, major causes behind the fewer cases might be some other reason as well.

In addition to this, the memo also indicates that the test are done mostly between the hospital staffs and visitors right after the use of soap and this might be contradictory from the data he has stated. As, we are all wary about the fact that cleaning our hands carefully even with the clean water will kill half number of bacteria and microscopic organisms present. Perhaps, if the above statement is true than the memo suggested by the director doesn't hold any water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is completely flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author, is able to all the perplexities stated above and offer more pellucid evidence(perhaps in more systematic flow of research, then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to switch from liquid soaps to ultra clean soaps.