Should your government place a tax on the junk food and fatty snacks

Surely, there has been no time in history where the lives of people have changed more drastically.Overuse of fast-food and whether the government should place a tax on the junk food has always been one of the prominent topic in contemporary discussions. I concur with the idea of placing tax on the junk and fast-food.To what follows I would elucidate my point.

At the outset, there are myriad of reasons why government should place tax on junk food.As,we are all wary of the fact these kind of foods are very unhealthy for our body.But,we quite often see adolescents as well as adults indulging themselves in junk foods.In a way, if we increase the tax on food like chips, chocolate bars, noodles etc than this would eventually restrain people from buying it.Hence,this would be beneficial for the overall betterment of the society.

Likewise, excessive production of fast-food and junk food will also deteriorate the environment. For instance, if we think about the this pragmatically then we know that there is a whole process for making junk food like this which will throw toxic chemicals. Even though this requires gargantuan amount of people to work due to poor management of the factories this would only pile up the non-degradable waste. We have seen the wrappers of plastics on oceans and mountains which has not only cause the rise in global warming but also has reduce the life expectancy of people. It is pellucid for all of us about the obesity, diabetes and other health related diseases that comes because of the unhealthy foods. Therefore, increment in the tax of junk food would be beneficial for the overall betterment of the society.

On contrary, many people have established solid careers and business by establishing factories for different kind of junk foods. This also provide employment opportunities for the people. However, we can’t ignore the negative effects that comes along with the junk-food and fast-food.

To rebuttal, I certainly believe increasing tax on the junk-food and fast-food will bound people to indulge less in junk food. This would also bolster in the cause of removing toxic chemicals from the environment.