Should your government place a tax on the junk food and fatty snacks?

It is an undisputable fact that since past few years furor of an eating junk and fatty food has been increased excessively. People prefer to eat fast and fatty food without thinking about its long term effects. I firmly support the idea of keeping a tax on junk and fatty foods by the government. In my view, this action will decrease the consumption of such foods in the country in the following ways.

First of all, taxation on junk food will increase the cost of these foods, so that people will not prefer to buy them. Therefore, people will have health benefits as junk and fatty food contain lots of calories in a small volume. These foods contain more saturated fat which is not good for our heart. Candy bars and granola bars are high in sugars, so childhood obesity and adolescence diabetics are increasing day by day in the world. Working people eat pizza, burger, pretzel, sandwich and hot dog in their lunch every day, as they don’t have time to cook food at home; because of this, they suffer from obesity, hypertension and type 2 diabetes. Therefore, the tax on the fast and fatty food will force these people not to eat outside and finally, they will start eating home cooked food, which is good for their health.

Second, it’s not just the chemicals in fast food that affect the environment; it’s the whole chain of production. First, in the preparation of fast food, lots of meat is used. This meat is produced at factory farms, which contribute to global warming more than all of our cars put together. Second, many of their products are transported long distances, before they reach at the store, further increasing their impact on air quality. They also have a negative effect on water quality, as pathogens, hormones, drugs, and the fertilizers they use tend to seep into surrounding groundwater, potentially causing outbreaks of waterborne illness, fish kills, and other hazards.

Fast food places also tend to use a lot of packaging. This overuse of wrappers, straws, bags, boxes, and plastic ware is the biggest source of urban litter in the world. So, tax on fast food will increase their prize, and hence less consumption will reduce the production of these foods, finally it will save our environment.

Finally, In order to save money one avoids buying fast food from outside. People will start buying groceries regularly from the Food max and other stores and will prepare food at home, it would save money and homemade food is always better than fast food. Moreover, by putting a tax on fast and fatty food, a government would generate more income which would be used to provide other facilities like, education, environment saving projects and on transportation.

In a conclusion, the government should place a tax on fast and fatty food in order to reduce health problems mentioned above, to save the environment and to generate more income to the government.