Argument model essays and outlines

Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium - substances essential for building and maintaining bones.Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age.But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study.Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument points out that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, instead of decreasing the risk of osteoporosis. To buttress his argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, long-term study found that those who consistently consumed dairy products have higher rate of bone fractures; second, bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis. Although persistent consuming of dairy might increase the risk of osteoporosis, we should be offered more evidences to check the argument.

To begin with, the first piece of information we need to fully evaluate the claim is the credibility of the study mentioned above. The author fails to give us more detailed information about this study. how many people participated in this study? how many people took part in this study? what are the characteristics, personalities, health condition and ages of those participates? Without answering those kinds of questions, the study result remains undetermined. if only a few people are in the study, then sample size might be too small to draw any conclusion. if the old are more readily suffered from bone fractures than the youth, while most people in the study are aged above 65, then the disproportionate number of age groups might deflect the result and the study will be no longer convincing and representative. In addition, we should also be informed about the ways that scientists get statistics of every individual. if the study is conducted by self-report, then whether people accurately record their dairy consumption might be problematic. On the other hand, if researches strictly control daily intake of dairy and all people have no other resources to gain dairy, then the result might be more persuasive.

Moreover, the author should provide more evidences about causes of bone fractures and length of study. In all likelihood, difference in consumption in dairy is the major or the only cause of bone fractures, thereby strengthening the credibility of the study result. However, it is likely that bone fractures can be resulted from considerable factors. For example, people who exercise frequently might face higher risk of getting bone fracture. it is also likely that people whose job requires hard or laborious work might catch bone fractures more easily. Therefore, unless the study excludes all other potential factors in examining the rate of bone fractures, we cannot be highly convinced. Additionally, the author should also provide evidences about relationship between bone fractures and dairy intake. if such connection takes relatively short time to process and cause impact, then long-term study might be meaningless.

Last but not least, while it might be true that bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, we require more evidences to valid it. it is plausible that bone fractures are symptomatic of many other diseases, such as cancer, diabetes and so forth. it would be unfair to attributes bone fractures simply to osteoporosis. what's more, we also need to examine whether there are other major symptomatic of osteoporosis. As we mentioned above, examining bone fractures are relatively ambiguous, as they could be symptoms of other illness. if we can find the symptom that is unique to osteoporosis, then the conclusion is more grounded. also, if bone fractures are only marginal factors in osteoporosis, but we remain other more important features unexamined, then strength of argument would be undermined.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion is relied on incomplete evidences that curtail the validity of the argument. To further strengthen the argument, the author ought to add evidences as follows: first, whether participates in study are representative; second, whether study is well-designed and objective; finally, whether there is undeniable connection between bone fractures and osteoporosis.