The following appeared in the Pine City Gazette.

"Fifteen years ago, Pine City launched an electricity-conservation program that reimbursed residents some of the cost for replacing energy-wasteful motors, home office equipment, and home appliances with energy-efficient ones. For ten years, spending on this program increased annually, and annual total energy consumption declined. But spending on the program began to decline five years ago, and since then Pine City's total electricity consumption has increased sharply. If this increased usage continues, the city will have to build a costly new power plant. Obviously the best way to avoid this expense is to increase reimbursement to residents for replacing energy-wasteful equipment. This will reduce energy usage to the levels of five years ago."

The conclusion in the argument is highly dubious. Merely based on the scant information about an electricity-conservation program over the past fifteen years and some gratuitous assumptions, it is too hasty for the author to suggest that the reimbursement to residents for replacing energy-wasteful appliances should be increased and that by such means, the energy usage of Pine City could decline to the levels of five years ago.

To begin with, the author unfairly assumes that the fluctuation of energy consumption directly results from the electricity-conservation program. There are several critical points that the author fails to take into account. First, no evidence is cited to demonstrate that most of the residents have participated in this program. If very few people took advantage of the reimbursement to change their original appliances, it is hardly the case that the program has been a main contributor to either the decrease or the increase of energy consumption.

Second, even assuming that many residents have replaced their old equipment with the new energy-saving ones, it is still possible that other alternatives have played more crucial roles than these equipments in determining the energy consumption over the past fifteen years. These alternatives might include changes in demography, life standards, and climate in Pine City. It is highly possible that people gradually moved away from Pine City fifteen years ago, causing a decline in energy consumption regardless of what kind of equipments residents were using. Also, it is likely that since five years ago, the economy of Pine City has enjoyed a significant boom and residents' living standards have been enhanced accordingly, rendering a hike in energy consumption inevitable. Or perhaps the temperature was milder before, so that residents did not need to use much electricity to keep the house comfortable for living. Therefore, without providing more relevant evidence concerning the issues mentioned above, it is unwarranted for the author to assume any correlation between the program and the alteration in energy consumption.

Similarly, even if the program proved to be vital to energy conservation, the author's assumption that the difference in reimbursement indicates the effectiveness of the program is equally arguable. Perhaps the increase of investment before was due to inflation rather than enthusiasm. In this case, it is even likely that fewer families changed their old equipment during that period of time. Or maybe the reason why the expenditure dwindled five years ago was that most of the families have already changed all of their old equipment. If there was no more family to cater to, it is rather reasonable for the program to receive less money than before. Hence, if the author cannot present more information on this issue, he is not able to convince me that the amount of money put into this program determines its effectiveness.

Finally, the author gratuitously presumes that the city's energy consumption is able to return to its levels of five years ago. He lacks proof to verify that the city's current condition is similar to its condition five years ago. Without such proof, it is reasonable to postulate that more businesses and manufacturers have settled in Pine City during the past five years, making the basic need of energy in Pine City largely surpasses its standard before. Under this circumstance, not only a reverse in energy consumption is impossible at best, but such decrease might also be deleterious to the wellbeing of the stability of the society.

As shown above, the argument is poorly reasoned. To strengthen the author's conclusion, more detailed investigations and researches must be undertaken to find out whether there was a close correlation or causal relation between the program and energy usage before, whether the expenditure of the program was a correct indicator of its effectiveness, and whether the city is warranted to copy its policies made fifteen years ago.