Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

The business manager of happy pancake house restaurants claims that customers do not distinguish butter from margarine. To buttress his/her argument, the manager cites the following evidences: first, only about 2 percent of customers complained after replacing butter by margarine; second, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Tough the issue has its own merit, due to lack of convincing evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the manager indicates that only about 2 percent of customers have complained, meaning 98 out of 100 people are happy with the change. The credibility of data and result is questionable, however. How many customers are studied in total? Which cities do these customers come from? what are the age, gender, and eating habits of those people? without detailed description of the study, the result is invalid. it is plausible that not many people are involved in this research, so that the sample size might not be large enough and not representative. if some cities in southern united states perfer margarin, while citizens in other cities do not, it is oversimple to draw a uniform conclusion regarding these two types of behaviors. we are also not given the content of complaints. it is likely that many people complain other aspects of the restaurant, such as service, price, environment and so on.

Furthermore, the author refers to the report from servers, suggesting that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine. what is the exact number meant by "a number of"? For some serves, they might think only 5 or 10, whereas for others, 100 is not a big amount. Thus, without the correct number of complaints, no grounded conclusion can be deduced. serves might not remeber well enough to report the precise amount of complains or just miscalculated. some who are worried about potential punishment from the manager, do not dare to report the number as large as the truth. In addition, that people do not complain does not mean they are happy with the change. what if they forgot to complain but was unsatisfied with the change? what if they are too lazy to make any suggestions? Therefore, the conclusion is questionable bacause we are not given the validity of the report.

Last but not least, the author assumes that the small number of complaints means that either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine. The assumption perhaps seems reasonable at first glance; after further investigation, it is disputable. it is possible that after trying margarine, they are surprised that margarine taste better butter, so that they are unwilling to make change again. Accepting margarine this way does not necessarily mean that they cannot recognize either. Or margarine is not common in southwestern united states, so that people do not expect it to be appeared in the happy pancake house restaurants, and they like to try new things once they get the opportunity to do so.

To sum up, as it stands, the conclusion made by the manager of happy pancake house restaurants is relied on several problematic assumptions that curtail its credibility. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is suggested to provide the evidence as follows: first, the specific number of complains from every customers in every region; second, whether the report from the servers are credible enough to lead to the final conclusion; finally, whether people are equipped with the ability to distinguish butter from margarine.