Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to

The author proposes that interview-centered method will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in island of Tertia and in other island cultures than observation-centered approach. To buttress his/her argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, results from observation-centered approach shows children in Tertia were reared by an entire village; second, recent interviews indicate that children spend more time talking about their biological parents; third, the observation-centered approach to studying cultures in not valid by the opinion of Dr. Field. The issue has its own merit, but due to lack of relevant evidences and unaddressed assumptions, the conclusion is unsubstantiated and flawed.

To begin with, the author suggests that interview-centered method exceeds observation-centered method since through today's interview-centered approach, children in Tertia indicate they talk about their biological parents more, while based on observation-based approach, two years ago, kids were reared by an entire village. The comparison, drawn a link between situations today and those twenty years ago is questionable. It is likely that the child-rearing traditions has changed dramatically over these twenty years. Kids were fostered by entire village twenty years ago; on the other hand, kids are fostered by their parents today. Both methods contribute to the credible conclusions, in this case. The chronological comparison is unwarranted since they measure disparate time dimensions.

Moreover, the author assumes that the result of his/her recent interview is credible and convincing. The assumption seems valid at first glance. Nonetheless, after careful investigation, it is not persuasive. The interview about the children living in group of island might not be accurate and representative. The author fails to provide the detailed information about the whole interview processes, sample space and content of review with every kids. The author also fails to provide the number of interviewees that come from Tertia. If most of the interviewees are from other island, then it is fallacious to draw any conclusion about the rearing method in Tertia only based on the outcome of the interview above.

The interview result, in addition, shows that more kids spend much more time talking with their parents. Nevertheless, the time spending talking with their parents does not necessarily mean people are raised by their biological parents. Their parents might just be responsible for talking to their kids. Many other resources and opportunities provided to kids during their grown-up are offered by the entire village, such as education chances, food, caring and so on. The conclusion got from the fallacious definition of rearing is unlikely to get support to the author's argument.

Last but not least, the author unfairly assumes that observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid. It is plausible that Dr. Field did not conduct effective observations. We are not able to deny the observation-based method entirely. No one can guarantee that Dr. Field's team can get more credible result through interview-based method. Different island may have different topics to study on and conditions vary a lot. It is, hence, too naive to conclude that interview-based method is the most accurate one.

To sum up, as it stands, the author's conclusion is relied on several questionable assumptions that undermine its validity. To further strengthen his/her argument, the author is recommended to provide the evidences as follows: first, child-rearing tradition does not change at all over the past twenty years; second, the interview is strictly solid and scientific which is not narrowed to specific groups and it is biological parents that rear their own kids; third, the conclusion of Dr. Field is correct in all culture related researches and interview-based method can be extended to any culture studies in any regions.