The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Parkville Daily newspaper.

"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the letter to the editor of the parkville Daily newspaper, the author recommends that parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine, since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages. To buttress his argument, the author cites the following evidences: first, over 40000 young players suffered injuries; second, recent interview results show that youth-league soccer players in some major cities reported psychological pressures; finally, long practice sessions for sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Although it might be...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.