The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria.

"Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will reduce the number of people using the beaches and will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since the areas along the shore will be more attractive as a result, the beaches will be preserved and the area's tourist industry will improve over the long term."

The letter states that charging people for using beach on the island of tria will replenish the sand as well as protecting buildings and improve area's tourist industry over the long term. Though this statement might be true since eroshion of beach sand could be a serious threat to the island and tourist industry, many other pieces of evidences are required to substantiate the feasibility and consequence of such recommendation.

To begin with, the author fails to provide the information indicating whether the government is able to raise money for replenish the sand. if people are charged for using the beaches, it is likely that many people will be dropped out of using beach on the island of tria. They perhaps find other free beaches and go to other places for relax. In this case, with decreasing population attending the beach, it is questionable that whether admission fee charged would be enough to replenish the sand. In the long term, people who have been attracted to other beaches might not be willing to return to this beach even if sand has been replenished. Besides, due to severe storms, there is no guarantee that sand can be replenished successfully consistently. if frequent replenishment is necessary, the cost might outweigh benefit a lot, thereby reducing the significance of doing so. other than charging the beach, there could be better way to raise money, such as private donation, government subsidy and so on.

Moreover, another pieces information we need in order to fully evaluate the argument is whether replenishing the sand would decrease buildings' risk of additional damage. The author fails to provide detailed information about original condition of these buildings on the nearby island of batia. if these buildings all have long history and were constructed by poor materials, then overhaul or fully renovation might be more helpful than dealing with sand in terms of reducing damage. In addition, we should be informed about exact severity of storms. if the storms are too strong to cause no negative impact on buildings, replenishing the sand could be meaningless, as the total damage would not be reduced dramatically simply owing to more sands.

last but not least, the author assumes that the area's tourist industry will improve over the long twem if beaches are preserved. this claim might be true if most people are attracted by beauty of beaches. When sands are replenished, people can enjoy themselves by activities related to sand. However, we have to admit the long term tourism prosperity is depended on several factors, such as surrounding environments, location, prices of hotels, and services. No single element can predict the entire tourist industry readily. For example, if prices of hotels are not affordable to most individuals, then the population visiting the island of batia would not be too many. Therefore, more evidences about infrastructures, quality and services, and prices are required to conclude tourist industry.

To sum up, as it stands, the letter to the head of tourism bureau is relied on considerable incomplete evidences. Although charging tourists is a good way to raise money for replenishing sand, which might be a adequate resortion to protecting buildings and attracting more tourists, we should strengthen the statement with more persuasive evidences. The author ought to add information as follows: first, whether charging admission fee to the beach is the best appraoch to raise money; second, whether additional damage can be prevented; last, whether area's tourist industry will improve over the long term.