The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia indicates that there will be continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizens of Mentia. To buttress the argument, the author cites the following evidence: first, salicylates are members of same chemical family as aspirin, which can be used for treating headaches; second, the twenty-year study indicates that due to addition of salicylates into the commercial use, headaches reported has be decreased; finally, salicylates would be utilized as flavor additives for foods. Tough the issue has its merit, because of lack of convincing evidences and incomplete information, the conclusion is unsubstantiated.

To begin with, the author assumes that members from same chemical family have same treatment that can be used as medicine. However, the mere fact that both chemicals belong to the same family does not necessarily mean that they would have the same therapeutic effects for headache. We need more detailed information including compositions, elements and chemical properties to fully evaluate the argument. If aspirin can trigger certain chemical reactions and engender new composition which is useful for headache treatment, while salicylates cannot, then there is no guarantee that salicylates would serve for any medical purposes.

Furthermore, the author concludes the usefulness of salicylates by showing the study on relationship between commercial use of salicylates and number of headaches. We are not informed the credibility of the study. Who were the participates involved in the study? Did they use salicylates in their daily life? What were the effects of their headache? If the self-report method reliable? Without providing evidences regarding with these questions, the study is not persuasive. In addition, many other potential factors remain unexamined. For example, people today might pay more attention to health problems and are prone to physical exercise than those in the past. In this case, the amount of headaches can be declined significantly primarily because of healthy lifestyles. When commercial use of salicylates is not the crucial reason behind such trend, the effectiveness is problematic.

Last but not least, the new use does not necessarily decline the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. If the percentage of salicylates used as flavor additive is meager, then they could be ineffective if they are helpful for relatively large douse. Do people like thee flavor additives? If not, then the usage of salicylates perhaps is not increasing. We also need to be cautious about the side-effects brought by salicylates. Additionally, alleviating headache is not the same as preventing headache. Granted that salicylates are efficient in treating headaches, we cannot hastily infer that they assist in deter headache from happening. What're worse, it gives people illusion that they are not likely to be suffered from headache after using salicylates and thus stay up late and drink aggressively. Owing to alteration of their living habits and performing with unhealthy actions, people could readily catch headache.

In conclusion, as it stands, the conclusion is relied on incomplete and certain problematic evidences that curtail its credibility. To further strengthen the validity of argument, the author is recommended to add the evidences as follows: first, whether salicylates have the same medical property as aspirin; second, whether the study is valid and whether commercial usage of salicylates is cardinal in reducing headache; third, whether foods with new flavor additives will be purchased and eaten by most individuals and whether people will keep their normal livings.