College and university education should be free for all students, fully financed by the government.

Education is a process of teaching and learning which seeks to improve the knowledge and skills of students. In other words, education can be called a step towards progress and development since it aims at making society knowledgeable and skilled. Educational institutions such as college and university serve as platforms for the interaction between the learner and the learned and their faculty enables one to face the world alone. The quality of education at university and college levels plays a vital role in giving economics independence to an individual. To order to improve the current education condition, some proposes that college and university education should be free for all students, fully financed by the government. The argument, seemingly to cause huge financial burden on government, actually contributes to the overall competitiveness of the country.

Firstly, when all students are able to obtain college-level education, more creative ideas will be spurred and more advanced technology improvement will take place. It is the knowledge acquired at college that enables students to explore, to reckon, to research and to create something new. Without the accumulation and experiments in college, most of them are unable to think of so innovative ideas that can have great impact on science, or even the whole world. One classic example is Professor Mankiw at Harvard University who is the winner of Nobel Prize indicates that he became interested in economics after taking advance Macroeconomics class in university. Using the resources in the university, he was able to read extensive and using the knowledge he learned, he was able to understand many previous research paper, and using the skills he acquired, he was able to create and then test his own theories. Professor Mankiw was able to develop models in economics to help government enact best policy.

Secondly, through university, the skills and knowledge obtained by students contribute positively to the social role. It is well known that students who have finished university courses have higher chance to find a find and make contribution to the society. The society will be ordered and well organized. The proportion of poor people defined today will be lower, so that government has less need to assist in citizens, especially who become richer due to knowledge. Since every job position are created and more workers provide their effort, the total efficiency and output of the countries will be enhanced. In other word, the countries overall GDP will be increased and people’s utilities are improved as well. College is also responsible for teaching students moral standard. The criminal rate and unsafe actions can be dwindled as a result. Government do not need to worry much and put much resources on stabilizing society and inhibiting unrest.

Finally, the concerns raised by government that it may suffer from huge financial crisis and raised by public that they would be taxed more are ungrounded. The benefits created by financing all students to university exceed largely to its cost, because students who have better skills and higher educational level are more likely to make wealth to the society. Say, for example, that students who majored in environmental science learnt how to use the resources effectively and explored the usage of natural resources. In stead of insisting on the traditional fuels such as oil, they develop tools that can make use of solar energy, which can be used widely in heating and automobile. They also invented method to accumulate solar energy and convert it to electricity, so that citizens take advantage of them even with disappearance of sun. Government, following this way, can save money by utilizing free recourses other than trading oil with other countries. Gains like this can be applied to many other fields, including food science, medicine, and so on. Government financing college students is the same is investing, which has no risk of gaining profit.

In conclusion, from the reasons above, the pros gained by financing all students to college weighs higher than the cons. Therefore, the action to finance all students to college and university is wise.