College and university education should be free for all students, fully financed by the government.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the government should support all students to attend college and university. Indisputably, it is attractive as thousands of insolvent can have better education. Nevertheless, both university and students supported by the government lose their motivation as they are no more desperate. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that supporting all expenses, and would argue that the government should only benefit hard-working students.

First of all, universities supported by the government become indolent. I would like to point out that the money is a major problem for all money. A lot of university emphasize the prestige of being their alumni and try to elicit money from their alumni by having diverse events, reunions, and awards. To illustrate, let us look at the example of Harvard university. Being one of the most prestigious universities in the world, the alumni donations are 10 times bigger as much as students' tuition. In this circumstance, obviously Harvard spent their wisely to their research and education, to remains as a top university. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that the government-funded university would not be as exigent as others, therefore lacks motivation.

Furthermore, fully funded students can disregard the value of the education. Specifically, students who know their parents are working hard supporting their tuition try to satisfy their parents laborous work. Generally, wealthy students around me often are disinterested in studying. However, poor students work hard and try to set clear goal to become financially solvent to pay their student loan. Both common sense and personal experience showed the correlation between financial situation and students' passion for study. Hence, all the evidence above demonstrates that without any pressure on money students often do not necessary to study.

Admittedly, there are many impoverished students who give up studying and alter their careers to earn money. This is true especially when it comes to students who have to care for other family members. In addition, only rich students can afford private university, creating an inequality in the society. However, the above argument does not constitute a enough support to claim that the government should offer full charge of the higher education. Because with low-rate student loan and scholarship, impoverished students also can enjoy the benefit of education.

In conclusion, although it sounds ideal that the government offer free of charge education, the great expense required doesn't override other problems. As long as the government try to help hard-working students, poor students can be encouraged studying hard. In fact, many great achievement in science came from people who lacked financial support.