"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But eighty percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumni who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all-female, therefore, will improve morale among students and convince alumni to keep supporting the college financially."

The author argues here that Grove college should remain all-female education. To support this argument, the author reasons that majority of faculty members, students, and alumnae opposed co-education. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it fails to mention several key factors, reveals several instances of poor reasoning, and distorts the view of the situation by providing ambiguous data. Hence the argument is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument doesn't explain why the proposal came up. For example, there might have been a Government law passed banning all-female education or decrease in the total number of students, requiring co-education to satisfy the number of new students. If pro co-education is argument is exigent and important, then people opposing co-education cannot be comparable. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing, if it explicitly stated the background of the proposal.

The author also points out that keeping the college all female will improve moral among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not prove any clear correlation between remaining all-female college and either the morale among students or the amount of donation. First, there is not clear evidence that allowing men would decrease students morale. New male students can energize and diversify the schools. Secondly, salary of adult men is as 50 percent higher as women. So, by changing into co-education, even the amount of support from original alumnae decreases, the overall amount of donation might increase. If the argument had provided study of similar situation where women school converted into co-education, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author fails to notes any specific figures in the statistic which raises several skeptical questions. For example, how many people actually responded on the survey? How the surveyed proceeded? If there are only 20 people who answered the survey mostly from anti co-education people, then the survey does not give any evidence. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author is biased so lack substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is not persuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must give clear concrete evidence, perhaps by providing specific data on the survey and method. Moreover, to better check the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why the proposals were suggested and what are some other benefits when changed into co-education.