According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

The author argues here that adopting an honor code like Groveton college would reduce the number of cheating among other colleges and universities. To support this argument, the author reasons that adopting an honor codes discouraged their students to cheat. However, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated, distorts the benefit of the honor code by providing weak evidence, reveals several instances of poor reasoning. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the other universities follow the grading system like Groveton. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example Groveton university has paper-based test, while most other universities have computer-based test or online test. It is a nature of paper-based tests, that people easily look their peer's paper and cheat. On top of that, the size of the class varies around the university. Private university usually offers small classroom where only one professor can supervise a test without difficulty. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that how the tests are given to students and difference in the testing environment among different universities.

The author also points out that Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not prove any clear comparison between earlier monitoring system and a newly adopted honor code. To illustrate further, students might agree that a new honor code discourage them to cheat, but it might be the case that old professor-monitoring system is more efficient when preventing students to cheat. If the argument had provided direct comparison between the two systems, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that the less cheating is reported after adopting a new honor code. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, even fewer students get caught while cheating, it might be the case more students cheat without getting caught. Therefore, instead of comparing the number of cheating, the university should hold some standardized tests to compare the changes in performance after adopting an honor code, which can help them to estimate how students honestly study than cheat for test.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is not persuasive as it stands. To better check the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about testing environment and tangible benefit of adopting new honor code like standardized test score.