why want to live in I house

I have attended 11 different schools, interned in Korean security company, and served in Korean Army. No matter how many changes I’d been through, making friends and adopting in new environment were always challenging. Honestly, it was not only my capability. I am in a huge debt to many who took care of me who was flustered at totally new surroundings. I hope to repay those debt to exchange students who will be living in I-house around me.

Five years ago, I entered a highschool cafeteria without any friends to sit with. At that morning, I promised myself that I will be an active, friendly, and hardworking international student. However, it was because of the winter semester when students are already in groups, my bad english which people barely understand, or just simple excuse. In Korea, friends formed around me, but , at that time, I was just a weird-looking asian boy. That couple minutes in a line was the longest moment in my life. I looked around every table, and I found two asian students sitting in front of the door. We shared hardship being an international student, and I felt a sense of belonging. Later, I found I ruined their date, but i was that desperate. I learned that just eating with new people can mean a lot to them. I never forget people who kindly taught me how to unlock the locker, took me home after varsity games, and slowly repeated their words several times.

Especially, I remember my past host families Bob and Sandy, most. After their children branched their new families, they kindly took me as a new child. They always took me along with them wherever they went, and kindly introduced me. They cooked delicious meal and took me expensive restaurants. They were pleased when I got accepted to college, and greatly worried when I broke my ankle while skate-boarding. Sandy even took a leave on that day to take me to hospital. Even now, they contact and care about me by Facebook. In the US, I have given excessive love from many people around me.

Sometimes, I wondered why people are so nice to me. I was a poor little Korean who couldn’t even communicate fluently. But I am not always that little Korean teenager. During the 4 years in the US, I am not afraid of speaking English, and I have solid dream to being a professor who studies a computer vision and help visually disabled people.