"Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development."

Whether government should place restrictions on scientific research has been controversial issues. Indisputably, radical science developments often bring disasters to people like the atomic bomb and side effects of drugs. Nevertheless, many regulations on research and development often hamper their growth. Thus, I generally disagree with the placing restriction, and would argue that only least amount of restriction is needed to protect from accidents.

First of all, placing any restrictions would weaken the nation's technological competitiveness. I would like to point out that the today's technology is winner takes all bases. To illustrate, let us look at the example of big data. In early 20th century, Facebook became dominant in social network business. Even many company like Twitter, Instagram, and Snap-chat followed its lead, but they couldn't success as much as Facebook. Moreover, after Google became popular, many search engine are weakened. They became popular because the US government continually supported them by providing internet security and financial support not putting restriction on their business. In this winner get all world, Government should support newly promising technology like 3D printer, Artificial Intelligence, and drone to become dominant in that field. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that putting restriction will weaken one's competitiveness.

Furthermore, it is hard for government to regulate those scientific research. Specifically, in South Korea, many different laws have been imposed on unmanned flying object called drone. However, only a few people are getting caught for their illegal use of drone, and many people secretly breaching the law. More restriction means more people and money, but the government only has limited manpower. This common sense have told us that more restriction would be another cumbersome for a government which demonstrates that restriction is unnecessary.

Admittedly, radical science development often cause accidents. This is true especially when it comes to the World War II when nuclear is used as a weapon. In addition, some unprepared medicines or surgery cause side effect. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that government should place restriction. Instead, they should only penalize few people who maliciously take advantage on other people, and put only minimum restriction to protect their people.

In conclusion, although some science development brought danger in history, our technological development became possible with the government aid. As long as some preventive measure is performed, government should not place restriction on scientific research fact, they have to look for what promising field and give full support.