"Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development."

Researches are stepping stones towards determining the growth and development rate of any nation. In this globalized economy, no country can't stay in isolation, thus to meet the emerging changes timely researches are conducted by authorized committees so that the government, indirectly the citizens of country, can take benefit from new growth and development patterns.

Government is potent factor in initiating, finalizing the concept, budgeting any new research program. But the government should try to restrain itself from interfering into the ongoing functioning, since the personnel who have been recruited for a particular project are indeed specialists of that core area and understand the pros and cons of situation pretty well. At times, the government official having minimal or even no knowledge about the process questions the researchers, this somehow creates a complex situation as in a way they are doubting towards the perfectionism or loyalty of those scientists; this in a way causes a blow to their self-esteem and thus they start losing their interest in the project.

Also, government being the ruling hand, as it is giving financial aid to such programs, sometimes cut down the budget or intervene in their expense related matters, this slow down the pace of the work and leads to mere wastage of time and money. Thus, government needs to restrict itself from intervening into these ventures as this will create only chaos in the work environment.

On the other hand, in absence of any government check, the national security of any country is at stake since the researchers or scientists can misuse the technology or scientific coding for their personal monetary benefits. In such a case, role of government becomes more crucial as it has to work as a "watch-dog" to keep an eye on every functioning inside the four walls of laboratories.

Also the funding for such programs is done by using the taxes- that are further a part of hard earned money of citizens. In a way, the government has to be answerable for spending every penny to native of its state. The government needs to appoint certain educated and trained professionals as subordinates or team-mates in such ventures so as to assess the functioning of every movement.

I firmly believe that keeping a minimal check is of utmost importance, since when the question is regarding national security government can't ignore its role. Essential surveillance teams must be formulated that doesn't intervene in the functioning of research programs but monitor all the actions in a positive manner.